IMG_20130626_123628
Food, Places I love, Thoughts

The rain is falling on my window pane, but we are hiding in a safer place

Waking up to the sound of rain: I love hiding under the covers listening to the sound of raindrops that pitter patter outside my window. It always makes me want to fall back into slumberland, but not today. The rain hasn’t been hitting us for a week now, and Singapore can’t be happier to have it now to wash away the remnants of the haze. Today’s going to be a good day. Mom is finally coming back at midnight later, and I’ll get to breathe in her scent after three weeks. The haze for me last week was terrible. I kept to myself for a few days- it was like being a prisoner to my own room. I would hide under the covers and still be able to sniff out the haze. My lungs felt heavy most of the time, my throat felt dry, and I felt nauseous for the most part of the day.

Thankfully, the haze took a turn during the weekend. Perhaps it knew that the weekend was here and we want to get out and play. And I hear that Singapore got it quite lucky. People in Malaysia are suffering a high PSI index level of 700, and flights in and out of KL was cancelled last night. A friend commented “I’d rather we get PSI 400 than to have Malaysia suffering a 700 PSI alone.”

I can’t imagine what it must be like for the Malaysians.

I’ve got a million and one things to do, and right now I’m sitting in the comfort of my bed typing this. In a bid to cheer you (and myself) up, I’d like to share with you some cupcakes that I had a month back, which is possibly my favourite ones in Singapore.

IMG_20130626_123901

From the bottom left, clockwise, Red Velvet, Salted Caramel, Cookies n Cream, Carrot Cake, Peanut Butter n Jelly (the special for the day) and white chocolate strawberry. It was difficult to pick a favourite out of the lot because all of them were so, so good. But if I had to choose my top three, it’ll be Carrot Cake, Red Velvet and Strawberry white chocolate. Peanut Butter n Jelly finishes last, but perhaps that’s because I’m not that much a fan of peanut butter and jelly. The cupcakes were the best I’ve tasted in Singapore simply because they were soft and moist even though I left it out for a while before eating them. And did I mention the frosting? You can throw all healthy thoughts out of the window simply for the orgasmic frosting. Yes, its THAT good. Having a consistent texture for cupcakes isn’t sufficient of course, and the flavour would determine its overall verdict. Plain Vanilla does a very good job in its cupcake combination taste-wise, and the only teeny complain I might add is that it does get a little too sweet, but not overwhelmingly so. Perhaps that’s how it gets its soft texture, and I definitely wouldn’t compromise on that.

IMG_20130626_124151You can request for a ribbon to be added (because it makes things look prettier, doesn’t it?) and the only gripe I have about the place is that they don’t have a place for customers to sit and enjoy their cupcakes. Its really a squeeze inside the shop, and I’ll have one final word to add: get all the flavours next time you’re there.

Plain Vanilla
Holland Village •
34A Lorong Mambong
Singapore 277691
Tel: +65 6465 5942
Tuesday to Saturday: 12pm to 8pm
Sunday: 12pm to 6pm.

Tiong Bahru Estate  
1D Yong Siak Street
Singapore 168641
Tel: +65 6465 5942
Tuesday to Sunday: 12pm to 6pm

Email: order@plainvanillabakery.com (to order), or hello@plainvanillabakery.com (for general enquiries)

http://www.plainvanillabakery.com/

Note: Delivery orders require three days in advance; next-day orders by 4pm the day before

Standard

Leave a Reply

